7/5/2014 11:54 P.M. ET
Posey safe after Padres' unsuccessful challenge
Giants catcher's double in 10th inning stands following replay review
By Will Laws / MLB.com
SAN DIEGO -- The Padres challenged a play in the top of the 10th inning during their game against the Giants on Saturday.
Right after Brandon Belt hit a two-run homer to put San Francisco ahead, 5-3, with no outs, Buster Posey hit a double to center off Padres reliever Dale Thayer.
It was ruled on the field that he slid in before Irving Falu's tag, but Padres manager Bud Black challenged the call.
After replay review, it was determined the call would stand. Posey was stranded at second, however, as Thayer set down San Francisco's next three hitters.
The Giants went on to win, 5-3, after Santiago Casilla retired the Padres in the bottom half of the inning.
Will Laws is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.