© 2013 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

9/14/2013 9:46 P.M. ET

Giants hold off on decision regarding Gaudin

LOS ANGELES -- The Giants delayed their decision regarding right-hander Chad Gaudin's playing status, partly because he wouldn't be ready to pitch until Monday anyway after throwing his simulated game Friday.

Manager Bruce Bochy indicated that the longer Gaudin remains inactive, the more likely it is that he'll return as a reliever if and when he's activated from the disabled list. Gaudin has relieved and started this season.

Gaudin, who was sidelined with carpal tunnel syndrome, has not pitched since Aug. 16 at Miami. He made his first 18 appearances in relief, recording a 2.05 ERA. Gaudin then replaced right-hander Ryan Vogelsong in the rotation and posted a 5-1 record with a 3.53 ERA in 12 starts.

Pence closing in on historic starting feat

LOS ANGELES -- Right fielder Hunter Pence has started each of the Giants' 149 games and seems poised, barring unforeseen circumstances, to become the first player since the franchise moved to San Francisco in 1958 to start all 162 games.

Pence would not be the first Giant to play in every game of the season. First baseman Will Clark appeared in 162 games in 1988 but started 157. Center fielder Willie Mays played every game in 1961, the final year that the Major League schedule consisted of 154 games. He started 151. One year earlier, Mays played 153 of 154 games, starting 152.

In 1962, when the three-game playoff with the Dodgers expanded the Giants' season to 165 games, four players exceeded 160 appearances. Shortstop Jose Pagan played 164 games, which remains the franchise record, and started each one. Mays and first baseman Orlando Cepeda played 162 games apiece, starting 158 and 156, respectively. Second baseman Chuck Hiller also kept busy, appearing in 161 games and starting 158.

Only eight other Giants have played as many as 160 games in a season: Jim Ray Hart (1965), Willie McCovey (1965), Tito Fuentes (1973), Bobby Bonds (1973), Darrell Evans (1979), Brett Butler (1990), J.T. Snow (161 in 1999) and Pedro Feliz (2006). Bonds played 153 of 155 games in the strike-shortened 1972 campaign.

Giants promoting Kuiper for HOF's Frick Award

LOS ANGELES -- The Giants have launched a campaign urging fans to vote broadcaster Duane Kuiper onto the Ford C. Frick Award ballot.

Fans can vote once per day at facebook.com/baseballhall. Balloting ends Sept. 30.

"Given the Hall of Fame's criteria, I cannot think of another candidate who better represents this era of baseball broadcasting than Duane Kuiper," said Giants president and CEO Larry Baer in a release. "Duane has been at the top of his craft for nearly 30 years. He and his partner Mike Krukow -- along with the rest of our Emmy award-winning broadcast team -- have brought Giants baseball into our fans' homes. Duane has been the Giants link to our fans for so many memorable and historic moments -- from Barry Bonds' 756th home run, Randy Johnson's 300th win, Matt Cain's perfect game, playoff games and two World Series championships." The team's broadcast partners, CSN Bay Area and KNBR, are participating in the push on behalf of Kuiper, 63. He has remained a fixture on Giants broadcasts since 1987, with the exception of a one-year stint in Colorado in 1993.

"Duane Kuiper is an ambassador to the game of baseball," said Krukow. "He excites those that listen to him talk about the game he loves, and through him, his listening audience falls in love with the game as well. When you listen to him, you understand completely that there is no other place in the world that he would rather be and there is no other place in the world that you would rather be as well."

The 20-member Frick Award Committee will vote in November from a final ballot of 10 names, which will be announced in early October. The 2014 winner will be revealed during baseball's Winter Meetings, slated for Dec. 10 and 11 in Orlando, Fla.

Three Giants broadcasters have been honored with the Frick Award, given by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum: Russ Hodges (honored in 1980), Lon Simmons (2004) and Jon Miller (2010). Lindsay Nelson, who spent three seasons with the Giants (1979-81), also is a Frick honoree.

Chris Haft is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.