07/04/09 2:19 AM ET
Giants get homer after umpire review
Ishikawa's double ruled three-run shot
By Andrew Pentis / MLB.com
Travis Ishikawa, the Giants' eighth hitter of the second inning, drove in two runs with a fly ball to right field. His blast was originally ruled a ground-rule double but, after Giants manager Bruce Bochy urged crew chief Randy Marsh to initiate an official review, it became a three-run home run, Ishikawa's sixth of the season, and gave the Giants a nine-run lead in a game they would eventually win, 13-0.
"It was hard to see," Bochy said. "It's such a tough call for the umpires. This park is one of the tougher parks [in that respect]."Replay was last used to overturn a call at AT&T Park in September 2008 when Bengie Molina also went deep to right field but was initially awarded a single. Amazingly, Molina was pinch-run for before the umpires issued their verdict, making him the first batter to not score on his own home run.
Andrew Pentis is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.