To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

09/09/2011 6:46 PM ET
Ryan Vogelsong selected 2011 "Willie Mac" Award winner
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
SAN FRANCISCO -- San Francisco Giants right-handed pitcher Ryan Vogelsong was elected winner of the 2011 "Willie Mac" Award, the club announced today.

The "Willie McCovey Award" is an annual honor bestowed upon the most inspirational player on the team, as voted upon by Giants players, coaches, training staff and the fans.

The award was established in 1980, in honor of former legend and Hall-of-Famer Willie McCovey. Ryan Vogelsong will receive a plaque prior to tonight's game. Engraved on the plaque are the words "Competitive Spirit, Ability and Leadership" to characterize the qualities both McCovey and Vogelsong exemplify.

Vogelsong, who's gone 10-6 with a 2.62 ERA (45er, 154.1ip) in 26 games (24 starts) this season for San Francisco, won nine of his first 10 decisions and made his first National League All-Star team. His 2.62 ERA currently ranks as the sixth-lowest in the National League and his 10 wins are a professional best.

Drafted by the Giants in the fifth round in 1998, Vogelsong was traded to Pittsburgh in a four-player deal in July 2001. He underwent Tommy John elbow surgery in 2002 and went 10-19 with a 6.00 ERA for the Pirates from 2001-06. The 34-year-old pitched in Japan from 2007-09 before playing in triple-A for the Phillies and Angels last season.

Listed below are the "Willie Mac Award" winners:

1980 Jack Clark
1981 Larry Herndon
1982 Joe Morgan
1983 Darrell Evans
1984 Bob Brenly
1985 Mike Krukow
1986 Mike Krukow
1987 Chris Speier
1988 Jose Uribe
1989 Dave Dravecky
1990 Steve Bedrosian
1991 Robby Thompson
1992 Mike Felder
1993 Kirt Manwaring
1994 None
1995 Mark Leiter, Mark Carreon
1996 Shawon Dunston
1997 J.T. Snow
1998 Jeff Kent
1999 Marvin Benard
2000 Ellis Burks
2001 Mark Gardner, Benito Santiago
2002 David Bell
2003 Marquis Grissom
2004 J.T. Snow
2005 Mike Matheny
2006 Omar Vizquel
2007 Bengie Molina
2008 Bengie Molina
2009 Matt Cain
2010 Andres Torres
2011 Ryan Vogelsong

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page