PrintPrint © 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Andres Torres selected 2010 'Willie Mac' Award winner
10/01/2010 6:42 PM ET
SAN FRANCISCO -- San Francisco Giants outfielder Andres Torres was elected winner of the 2010 "Willie Mac" Award, the club announced today.

The "Willie McCovey Award" is an annual honor bestowed upon the most inspirational player on the team, as voted upon by Giants players, coaches and the training staff.

The award was established in 1980, in honor of former legend and Hall-of-Famer Willie McCovey. Andres Torres will receive a plaque prior to tonight's game. Engraved on the plaque are the words "Competitive Spirit, Ability and Leadership" to characterize the qualities both McCovey and Torres exemplify.

Torres, who is in his second season with San Francisco, had a breakout 2010 campaign at Major League level, setting career-highs in nearly every offensive category. He's batted .270 (134-for-496) with 84 runs, 43 2Bs, 8 3Bs, 16 HRs, 62 RBI while going 25-for-32 in stolen base attempts in 136 games. 32-year-old is the first outfielder to win the award since Marquis Grissom in 2003.

Listed below are the "Willie Mac Award" winners:

1980: Jack Clark
1981: Larry Herndon
1982: Joe Morgan
1983: Darrell Evans
1984: Bob Brenly
1985: Mike Krukow
1986: Mike Krukow
1987: Chris Speier
1988: Jose Uribe
1989: Dave Dravecky
1990: Steve Bedrosian
1991: Robby Thompson
1992: Mike Felder
1993: Kirt Manwaring
1994: None
1995: Mark Leiter, Mark Carreon
1996: Shawon Dunston
1997: J.T. Snow
1998: Jeff Kent
1999: Marvin Benard
2000: Ellis Burks
2001: Mark Gardner, Benito Santiago
2002: David Bell
2003: Marquis Grissom
2004: J.T. Snow
2005: Mike Matheny
2006: Omar Vizquel
2007: Bengie Molina
2008: Bengie Molina
2009: Matt Cain
2010: Andres Torres

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Giants Homepage   |